If only there were 25 hours in the day…

Our mornings start with a small face in ours.  “My clock is green” sings my eldest, meaning wake up time (without being able to tell time, this is what works.  My youngest is still in a crib, so we don’t have to worry about an earlier wake up, thank god.) Thus starts the day.  The 5 am to 9 pm day.  The rush rush get everyone out the door so mommy and daddy can work and deal with ridiculousness there, and then come home, make dinner, do baths, do our own work before falling into a deep sleep on the couch in front of reruns of America’s Funniest Home Videos on TV.  Forget having any downtime.  Downtime is not possible.  And your to do list, also forgotten.  Why even bother writing one?  It never gets done.  And you think, maybe tomorrow.  But tomorrow repeats itself, and it isn’t any different than the previous day.

We always wish for one more minute, hour, whatever it takes to eke out one more thing on what we want to accomplish that day.  But if we had it, would it help us or hurt us?  I have tried to become more of a multi-tasker.  As we speak, I am sitting on the couch next to my husband, while I type my blog, and catching up on DVR’d shows.  Spending quality time, right?  Not really, but in my defense, he’s on his work computer, so its not like I am blatantly ignoring him.  Honestly, though, this is the only true quiet time we have with each other at the end of our long days.  In order to free up my nights more, I have also become a speed demon with my work stuff too.  I get in early, go nonstop until I leave, and try to leave as much stuff as I can at work, but inevitably, it comes home with me.  And stays in my car.  Oh, well.  My intentions were good, right?

I know a woman who has three children under the age of 6.  She runs marathons.  She reads for pleasure.  She brings work home to do.  And she has time to get together with friends, paint, organize parties, and do other art projects with her kids.  And she’s sane.  I don’t know how she jams it all in, but I want some of whatever she is having so I can have half the amount of energy she has to keep up with her day.  My mother in law is the same way.  Whenever we’d go to visit (pre-kids), she would be up at 5, as this is her wake up time every day.  By the time I rolled downstairs at 9 am (yes, I was still able to sleep that late…THEN), she had: done three loads of laundry, vacuumed the first floor, prepped dinner, had breakfast, done some work, and added an addition on the house.  Ok, the last part about the addition is a lie, but sometimes my husband and I joke that she has so much energy that if we left her with the kids, she would done all of that an then some.  We actually had her helping us when we moved into our first house, and she had torn down all of the wallpaper (our house had ridiculous amounts of it) and painted it within a few days.  Are some people just able to budget their time better than others?  I feel like I am a multi taker and I get a lot done.  So why can’t I do as much as others and I always feel like I need more time?!?!

Is it really more time that we need?  Would we just fill it up with everything else nonessential and not meaningful?  I feel like there are times that the stars align and we are relaxing.  And I should make it meaningful.  Make cookies.  Do art projects.  Go for a long walk.  But then I look around at my kids cuddled on the couch with my husband and I, and I think, nope.  This is meaningful enough.  Extra time won’t make these little times any better.

One thought on “If only there were 25 hours in the day…

Leave a Reply

