Murphy’s Law

Murphy’s Law states that if anything can go wrong it will.  Truth.  I don’t consider myself a pessimist, but I don’t think I am a true optimist, either.  I just know that no matter how I plan things out, organize, make sure my t’s are crossed and my i’s dotted, something is bound to go wrong.  And it usually does.

Going back to when I was younger, I was the one who often caused the Murphy’s Law in the family.  My parents would take their “parents-only” vacations.  They went back to Puerto Rico (the site of their honeymoon), other tropical places.  Never for more than a week.  My aunt was the one to care for us.  But since it would be during our school days, it should be easy, right?  Nope.  Every single time they left, within a day (or even hours in some cases), I got sick with something or another.  One time, I vomited profusely and then ended up with strep throat for a week, so my aunt had to find places for me to stay while she worked.  Another time, I woke up one morning (early in my parent’s vacation week) with a neck so stiff I couldn’t move it no matter how hard I tried.  My aunt thought I had meningitis, and luckily, I didn’t.  But she still had to care for me until my parents got home.  I was the true Murphy’s Law kid.  And my poor aunt!  How she kept AGREEING to watch us to help out my parents was beyond me.

I am a planner by nature.  I am organized and known for it on my team at work.  I like to make sure that things are set in my calendar so I know what’s coming.  So when a surprise meeting or other thing gets thrown at me that throws off my own plans, I often stress.  It used to be that I couldn’t get past it for quite some time.  I would grumble about it, try to make it still work with my plans if at all possible.  At some point during my 11 years in this job, I gave up.  Not my planning itself, but when things are thrown my way, I gave up trying to make things work for me against whatever has been put in my way.  I work around it, but I don’t let it bring me down.  Why bother?  Most times, I couldn’t change it anyway.  If something was bound to mess it up, it would.  Murphy’s law.

With two small children, I fully realize that things are going to go wrong.  My plans will fall through.  I will need to think on my feet, not be worried about things that don’t happen, adjust with what needs adjusting.  Easier said than done, especially for a planner and organizer like me.  I remember when my youngest had issues with ear infections (pre-tubes) that I would get “the call” and have to come to pick up and bring into urgent care for more meds.  It would disrupt my day, make me have to re-do, leave work and wonder if things would get back to normal.  I was always trying to think a step ahead, but in doing so, my planning would leave me helpless and more upset than before.  How would I be able to let go knowing that there is so much unknown to come?

Murphy’s Law can apply to so much.  I have felt it more so now that I am a mom.  I mean, I felt it on my wedding day (we ate super late and I had to pretend it was the original plan), and I am sure that I felt it other times (I just can’t remember because of mommy brain).  After my first nephew was born, my sister planned everything down to when his diaper was changed and his burping after feeding (well, not really, but you get the drift).  After nephew #2, she swore she would “roll with the punches” more, not necessarily because she wanted to, but because she knew she’d HAVE to.  We all laughed, thinking, ‘yeah, right! like she can do that!’  But wouldn’t you know it, she did.  She relaxed more, and planned what she knew she could and let go of everything else.  For someone who is slightly OCD, I suppose that’s progress.  I learned from her mistakes and triumphs.  I still plan, but I put aside more than I ever thought possible.  I mean, there are still times I want to scream when we have to put off going to Easter because my eldest has strep or my youngest has been on and off vomiting so I can’t go visit my family that I haven’t seen in awhile.  I cry, rant, rave (to my poor hubby), but I move on more quickly now.  Because what’s bound to happen, will happen.  And there is nothing in my quasi-OCD mind that can stop it.

Leave a Reply

