Reflections…why I became a blogger.

Well, here it is.  I am 40-something blog posts into my blog on WordPress, and I am going to take a moment to reflect on why I blog/how I got started.  To be honest, Crazy Grad Mama and I have a LOT in common.  Motherhood, post partum depression, post graduate struggles.  To feel like I am normal even when I don’t, well, there’s something to be said for that!  So here goes. I did have a post which included some ramblings about why I keep secret, but here’s a little more about where I began.

How did you get into blogging?

I needed an outlet.  I needed to feel normal.  I like to write, but I don’t have a specific thing that I want to keep up with nor the time to do so.  I felt like I had talked my husband’s ear off about all of my problems all the time, and he was great about it, but we both needed another way for me to deal with things.  I don’t really remember exactly when I said, “HEY! I’ll start a blog!” but it might have been in searching for things online that would help me through the times my husband (or anyone else) couldn’t be there to listen to me bitch.

What advice would you give to another blogger starting out?

Write what’s on your mind.  You can have a purpose to start out, but it may not be the case.  Even if you write 100 blog posts but only actually publish a few, the writing can be especially cathartic.  I knew I loved to write always, but not having a drive to keep a story going (I’ve tried, believe me), I thought it best to keep to what I knew I could do.  So don’t beat yourself up if you don’t go out of your comfort zone.  Keep with what makes you happy.

How has your blog changed since you started writing it?

Not much.  It’s still the ramblings of a mom of two small kids, and how I survive each and every day.  My goal hasn’t changed either:  be a successful mom.  The main thing that HAS changed is when I write and when I publish them.  I find that I often have surges of energy or “writer’s bug” to write about so many things at once, so I have used the “Schedule a post” function a lot more.  I like to space things out so I have time to go back and make changes if I need to.

What would be your dream campaign? & What advice would you give to PR’s wanting to approach you for a campaign?

I think my header picture says it all.  The “supermom” idea that we all strive to be: Wonder Woman.  We can’t all be it, so who wouldn’t want someone to make it happen?  Think a PR firm can do that?!?!

Do you have a plan for your blog?

I would love to just keep going.  I want to continue to make more connections and shape the blog according to my kids’ growth and the new challenges we face as a family every day.  If I can help just one person here and there to feel “normal”, I’d love to keep this going.

What do you think about rankings?

Every now and again I take a peek, as it’s fun to see who is looking.  Otherwise, I just keep writing.  And when a new follower pops up, I excitedly share it with my husband.  He is happy that I am happy, so I suppose I will keep going regardless of rankings.

Other notable blogs

  1. Mad Max – intrigued by the title?  Yes.  Great advice about the day to day goings on of a mom?  Hell, yes.
  2. Crazy Fit Mommy – what I would strive to do: have balance, success, love and a full life.
Leave a Reply

