#Burblife

I joke about it all the time.  That I love ‘burb life.  When I can be found at Trader Joe’s on a Saturday evening, buying cookie butter and a bottle of wine, that’s ‘burb life.  When I am proud of myself for cleaning the entire first floor, washing the kitchen floor, and all of the bathrooms before 9 am on a Sunday (and washed two loads of laundry to boot), that’s ‘burb life.  When the items on our agenda consist of home improvement stores or mowing the lawn and watching football, that’s ‘burb life.  Is it all it’s cracked up to be?

Do you remember the scene in Old School, the one with Will Ferrell talking about all of the things he and his new wife will do to have a “nice little Saturday”?  He lists several places, Home Depot, Bed Bath and Beyond, etc, and then his friends rib him for whether or not he’ll have time for Olive Garden.  I think about this often, when my friends or family ask us what we have going on for the day.  It’s usually similar to this home improvement list, or grocery shopping, or what have you.  And it’s not followed by a break down (like what Will Ferrell had in the movie).  Instead, it’s followed by an evening with a bottle of wine (maybe from Trader Joe’s) and a fire and some DVR’d shows.  And I am totally fine with it.

Don’t get me wrong, it took me some time to get to this point.  My husband used to rib me, saying that I was too high maintenance because I wanted to go out to dinner all the time or go out in the city for the night.  I never lived in a big city, and I never wanted to, but I loved the idea of going out, being a part of something bigger than myself and the small town I grew up in.  I could get lost in the people and places, faces, music, drinks, whatever, and then go home to my happy little life and continue in quiet.  My husband lived in the city when we were dating, and I loved going to visit him.  Everything, literally everything, was at our fingertips and a short walk away.  But I always loved going back to my quiet town, with no street lights, and the smell of farm nearby.

Now that we have a big house in the burbs, I don’t regret anything.  I love knowing that I can come home to a warm house, a wine fridge full of wine, and my pantry full of groceries that we bought that day on our nice little Saturday.  Maybe tomorrow we’ll go to Bed Bath and Beyond, maybe we won’t have time.  I’m not sure.  But I will continue to relish in my ‘burb life, going to sleep at 9 pm on a Saturday.  Ain’t no shame in that.

Leave a Reply

