When a winter storm = enjoyment

Usually, a winter storm with two small kids equals hell.  If the weather is too cold or you are getting too much snow, you can’t take them outside for too long.  You get stuck inside for extended periods of time and run out of things to do within minutes, and when your kids start getting a bit older, they learn the word “bored” pretty quick.  I knew this firsthand last winter when we had literally three blizzards three weekends in a row.  (The winter before when my youngest was only months old wasn’t fun, but the roads were passable and daycare wasn’t closed the whole time.)  Today, though, our snow was actually perfect.

Let me paint a picture.  Early birthday party, where we were home in time for an early lunch and to put my youngest down for a nap.  While they were napping, I took a nice, hot shower (perhaps I neglected that before the birthday party, oops).  After, my eldest was playing with their LeapPad, my husband was studying, and I was sitting on the couch, cuddled under a blanket in front of our fireplace, reading my book.  The snow came down outside.  It was amazing.  And yes, all true.

I have to admit, when we found out we weren’t getting as much as our mid Atlantic counterparts for this storm, I was mildly disappointed.  I mean, we’re still getting snow now, and we have nowhere else to go.  But it would be nice to know that we’d be more cooped up than usual and actually required to stay in and do nothing, not just by choice.  This is still nice though.  And I know the grass is always greener.  If we had gotten snowed in for more than a day or so, we’d all be at each other’s throats.  So I will just enjoy the scene I have right now.  Snow covered treetops, cuddled on the couch in front of the fire in my reverie.  And I know that the next time a huge storm hits, I won’t remember a damn minute of this.  I’ll wish for spring and getting out of the damn house.

Leave a Reply

