Why I can never be a SAHM (and why I give them SOOOO much credit)

I have been home with the kids for the past week and half.  And we have all of August together.  Believe me, I am so thankful that my job allows this to happen, because otherwise, I don’t know how we could afford childcare for this time frame.  But believe me, it only solidifies why I can never be a stay at home mom.  It’s just not for me.

I love my kids, I do.  They are very cute, they surprise me all the time with the things they do, and we have fun together.  But after being home with them from morning until bedtime without a specific routine, we are sort of driving each other nuts (or I just feel that way, but regardless, it’s still frustrating).  These past two weeks we have had their swim lessons that has helped us keep on track since we can base our days around that.  Having a driving force to organize my day is key.  But once that’s over, well, I’m not sure what to do with our days.

I remember feeling the mommy guilt of sending my kids to daycare daily and having to go to work.  Days that I would want to stay at home and do nothing.  Days that I wanted to be a part of their day and have nothing to do with mine.  Or when they had a sniffle and I knew they were fine to go to daycare, but I just wanted to keep them at home to snuggle.  But being home with both of them has given me new perspective.  When the first few hours are spent lazing around in our pj’s, followed by trying to come up with games to play inside, trying to decide if we should brave the hot outdoors, or what else we can cram in before lunch and nap time, and then after nap, forget it.  It’s survival of the fittest.  By then,, we are all crabby, hungry, hot, and annoyed with each other.  By the time my husband gets home, we all look like we’ve been the war.  We are messy, dirty, sweaty, smelly, and yes, hungry again.  We barely make it until bedtime and then I can’t even enjoy my alone time because I am exhausted and can’t keep my eyes open.  And then we do it all over again the next day.  And the next.

Hats off to you, SAHMs.  You are the epitome of patience and perseverance.  I never once thought it was all sunshine and roses for you (or daytime soaps and bon bons), believe me, but I had no clue just how difficult (and exhausting) day in and day out with your kids could be.  Godspeed, SAHM.  I can never do what you do.

One thought on “Why I can never be a SAHM (and why I give them SOOOO much credit)

  1. It’s not for me either. I need quiet time alone to recharge, and kids are exactly understanding of that. My husband stays home with our 18 month old while I work and I am so grateful for that! Though most days I wish I could just work part time and be a part time SAHM. Best of both worlds then.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

