Attending social events while pregnant

I’m not saying I don’t recommend it.  But definitely, choose wisely.

I attended my cousin’s wedding this weekend.  It was a beautiful ceremony, actually in the same place I was married.  And we left our kids at home, so we didn’t have to worry about whiny-pants showing up uninvited.  The food was delicious, the music was great, and I got to see people I hadn’t seen in awhile.  But the wedding was over early, which should have been good, right?  Nope, because I was designated driver (OBVIOUSLY), and everyone wanted to hit a bar after.  My pregnant body was tired, and alcohol-free, so I wasn’t really feeling it.  I didn’t want to be the spoilsport, though, so I agreed, provided we’d leave on the earlier side (which I was assured would happen).  Going to a bar while pregnant is not fun.  I don’t recommend it.  At all.  It was weird.  I mean, it was one thing at the wedding to be out and dancing with family because it was a celebration, an invited event with no random people around.  The bar was completely different.  We had a very strange crowd at the bar, but it brought me back to my younger, bar scene and club days.  Although without the alcohol numbing my senses to the weirdness, I was there to see it all.  And I didn’t feel comfortable with being in that sort of environment and dancing.  I just didn’t have it in me.  Luckily, we did leave early, but not before I realized just how much it sucks to be the pregnant lady at the bar.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t avoid all social events while pregnant.  I attend birthday parties, group meetings out, and house parties.  I can’t fully enjoy everything, but at least in most of these scenarios, I am able to focus on something else that makes me feel like I am a part of things.  I can focus on the food served, or the funny stories that people tell me, or how cute the kids are playing together; and I can do it all without the wine-induced haze.  I attend outings and fundraisers and dinner parties so I can enjoy the company (and again, the food).  But there are certain things I will avoid from now until the end of my pregnancy if at all possible.

Bars.

Clubs of any sort, but that could also be the age factor.

Concerts, especially if they are in close quarters.

Yes, my list is short.  But it’s necessary.  No need to feel any more uncomfortable that I already feel.  No need to sit back and watch people make fools of themselves, or get contact highs from the weed being smoked around me (probably not good for the baby, right?)  In any case, I am trying to continue to enjoy my pregnancy, since it IS my last.  I will keep to these no-no’s, and go back to enjoying them after I give birth.  Well, two of these.  Maybe.  If I can handle my alcohol again.

Leave a Reply

