Wondering what they meant…

Do you ever say something and wonder after, did that offend anyone? Or send a text- or receive one- and think about it, wondering what the meaning is? No? Just me? Cool.

I’m not talking about women overthinking about the date they had and what the guy is saying. (Did he mean to wait to call me? Why is he saying that if he’s not going to call? Trust me- after the many years with the same person, they really ARE that simple.) I’m talking about day to day BS that you say and immediately start to wonder if it made sense coming out, offended anyone, or just was crass in general.

For instance. Out with my best friend, telling a story which alluded to Irish men not having big penises. We both chuckled and went on with other convo. But suddenly I had that moment of, oh shit. Is her husband Irish? Does he not have a big wank? Did I offend her? Did anyone else in the nail place overhear and get offended? Fuck. This is how my mind works.

It happens with messages and phone calls and emails, too. If someone doesn’t respond (see a recent post) or they have a super random answer, are they upset? Did I offend? Will they never respond ever again? And round and round we go. Anxiety brain, much?

It sucks. Regardless of if it’s only one time or over and over until your head hurts from all the scenarios, it sucks. Does perception tie in? Sure. Does anyone really need to think how it plays out? Probably not, but we do.

Whether we want to or not, it’s in our nature to wonder, overthink at times, and second guess what we say- as well as want to put our feet in our mouths. So join me, won’t you, in that never ending cycle of curiosity. Or crazy. Or whatever this fucking shit is.


Leave a comment